Lefft

Freelance IllustratorPaddy Donnelly

Clare Weze - Lightning Catcher

Clare Weze - Lightning Catcher

Cover illustration for Clare Weze's debut children's book, 'The Lightning Catcher' published by Bloomsbury on 13th May 2021.

Alfie has noticed a few things since his family moved to Folding Ford. He really misses life in the city. He and his sister don't exactly fit in here. But the most interesting one is that the weather is BONKERS. One frost-covered branch on one tree in the middle of June? A tiny whirlwind in a bucket in the garden? Only in Folding Ford.

Armed with his bike, a notepad and his new best mate Sam, Alfie is going to investigate. His best clue is Nathaniel Clemm … the only thing in town weirder than the weather. When Alfie 'investigates' Mr Clemm's garden, only SLIGHTLY illegally, he finds a strange box that freezes his trainers and makes his teeth tingle. And when he opens it, only SLIGHTLY deliberately, SOMETHING gets out. Something fast, fizzing and sparking with electricity and very, very much alive. But the creature from the box brings trouble of its own, and as barometers and tempers go haywire in Folding Ford, Alfie finds himself at the centre of a perfect storm.

Skellig meets Stranger Things in this funny, heartfelt adventure story perfect for fans of Ross Welford, Christopher Edge and Frank Cottrell Boyce.

Buy The Book

More Work

I'm looking for new illustration projects. Send me an email if you'd like to work together. Follow me on Instagram and and subscribe to my illustration newsletter here.
Subscribe to my illustration newsletter here.